

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

DIRECTORATE-GENERAL FOR EDUCATION, YOUTH, SPORT AND CULTURE

Innovation, International Cooperation and Sport Unit C3 – International Cooperation

Brussels, EAC-C.3/JDV/CM

NOTE FOR THE ATTENTION OF ERASMUS+ INTERNATIONAL PROJECT COORDINATORS

Subject: Visa for participants in Erasmus+ and European Solidarity Corps

Universities, academic staff, students, young people and youth workers who participate in Erasmus+ and European Solidarity Corps¹ projects can encounter difficulties to obtain a visa. This note provides general information on the issuing of visas and residence permits to participants coming from third countries².

Authorisations for the entry and stay of third-country participants must be dealt with in coordination with the **national authorities of the destination country**. It is the responsibility of all participating organisations to ensure that the required authorisation is issued before the planned activity takes place.

The Directive on the conditions of entry and residence of third-country nationals for the purposes of research, studies, training, voluntary service, pupil exchange schemes or educational projects and au pairing (Directive (EU) 2016/801³) provides that, where all the general and relevant specific conditions are fulfilled, the third-country national is entitled to a residence permit or visa.

Applications for authorisations must be submitted to the relevant authorities of the European "Programme" Country well in advance, as the process may take up to 90 days. If there is no Consulate of the European "Programme" Country in their country of residence, participants should contact the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or the Immigration Office of the European "Programme" Country to identify the responsible consulate. Erasmus+ National Agencies⁴ in the "Programme" Countries may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The

Participants must be legally resident in the EU Member States or the following "Partner" Countries: former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey; Liechtenstein, Iceland and Norway; Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia; Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine; Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia; Russian Federation.

² For Erasmus+ see "Programme" and "Partner" Countries on https://ec.europa.eu/programmes/erasmus-plus/about/who-can-take-part_en. For the European Solidarity Corps, for the moment 'Programme Countries' are EU countries only.

³ https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/dir/2016/801/oj

⁴ National Erasmus+ Offices are responsible for the local management of the international dimension of the higher education aspects of the Erasmus+ Programme in 27 "Partner" Countries outside the EU. See more information on https://eacea.ec.europa.eu/erasmus-plus/contacts/national-erasmus-plus-offices en

EU Immigration Portal⁵ provides general information on visas and residence permits, both for short stays and long stays.

Generally speaking, participants in Erasmus+ and European Solidarity Corps projects staying in the destination country for more than three months need a long-stay visa and/or a residence permit before travelling. A short-stay visa is not the appropriate authorisation when the stay exceeds three months.

The documents necessary for applying for the relevant authorisation to enter and stay depend on the purpose of the stay and on the rules of the destination country (regarding long stays).

Short stays – no more than three months

Erasmus+ Programme Country of Destination	Rules
Members of the Schengen Area ⁶ : Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden	Non-EU nationals might need a short-stay visa ('Schengen visa') depending on their nationality. Check if a visa is needed ⁷ . In principle, Schengen visa holders can travel freely within the 26 Schengen area countries. The holder of a single-entry visa can enter the Schengen area only once. The holder of a multiple-entry visa can enter and leave the Schengen area a number of times during the validity period of the visa, while respecting the maximum period of allowed stay. General requirements for applying for a short-stay visa (this is an indicative list; harmonised lists exist in a number of locations ⁸): - A completed and signed application form - A valid travel document and a photograph in the right format - Documents related to the purpose of the trip (e.g. the Erasmus+ or European Solidarity Corps documentation) - Evidence of financial means (to cover travel and stay) - Documents related to accommodation - Travel medical insurance covering a minimum of €30,000 and valid for the entire Schengen area and for the duration of the stay.

⁵ https://ec.europa.eu/immigration/
6 Switzerland is the only Schengen Area country that is not a "Programme" Country.
7 https://ec.europa.eu/immigration/general-information/do-i-need-visa_en
8 https://ec.europa.eu/home-affairs/what-we-do/policies/borders-and-visas/border-crossing_en

	The administrative fee (currently €60 in most cases) is waived for students, postgraduate students and accompanying teachers who undertake stays for the purpose of study or educational training, as well as for researchers travelling for the purpose of carrying out scientific research. Check the website of the competent Programme Country for detailed information. The <u>EU Immigration Portal</u> ⁹ contains links to the national authorities of the Programme Countries that are members of the EU.
Not members of the Schengen Area: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, United Kingdom, Turkey, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	Non-EU nationals will need a national short-stay visa or not, depending on the rules of the country of destination.

Long stays – more than three months

The same rules apply to all Erasmus+ "Programme" Countries of destination

- Non-EU national participants need a long-stay visa or a residence permit issued by the destination country.
- Sometimes the destination country issues a residence permit replacing the longstay visa once the non-EU national arrives in its territory. The rules differ depending on the length of the stay and on the country of destination. The EU Immigration Portal¹⁰ contains links to the national authorities of the "Programme" Countries that are members of the EU.
- If participants hold a residence permit or a long-stay visa issued by a Schengen area country, they can move within the Schengen area up to 90 days in any 180day period.
- Non-EU nationals travelling to a Schengen area country via another Schengen area country must make sure that they have a long-stay visa or residence permit issued by the destination country.

⁹ https://ec.europa.eu/immigration/ 10 https://ec.europa.eu/immigration/

Sending institutions should cover fees, insurance and bank transfer costs (or part of these) using Erasmus+ organisational support or project management funds, i.e. not deducting these from the participant's individual support grant. Any cost charged to the participant should be clearly explained to them and agreed to by both parties, in advance.

Participants in cross-border activities in Erasmus+ Youth and European Solidarity Corps benefit from an insurance scheme. This insurance should be considered as sufficient for the purposes of granting entry and stay visas.

Claire Morel Head of Unit